Opinion

‘The occupants of a Porsche 911 with the Jarvis Cocker Pack will find their trousers firmly anchored’
Richard Porter opinion
opinion

‘The occupants of a Porsche 911 with the Jarvis Cocker Pack will find their trousers firmly anchored’

Leather is overrated, reckons Porter. It’s time to embrace the corduroy
17 Jun 2022
‘There’s something joyful and juvenile about crate-engine culture’
Dickie Meaden opinion
opinion

‘There’s something joyful and juvenile about crate-engine culture’

Why is it only US car makers who offer crate engines, asks Meaden
31 May 2022
‘The NSX’s handling, despite the legend, I always found to be pretty damn spiky’
Jethro opinion header
Honda NSX

‘The NSX’s handling, despite the legend, I always found to be pretty damn spiky’

Bovingdon’s car-related inner database has just been shaken to its foundations
17 May 2022
‘The Porsche Taycan is a terrifically comfortable and able bit of kit, but as a sports car, I’m not so sure’
Porsche Taycan
Porsche Taycan

‘The Porsche Taycan is a terrifically comfortable and able bit of kit, but as a sports car, I’m not so sure’

A drive in a Taycan leaves Porter reflecting on The Meaning of Liff
4 May 2022
‘Tesla's yoke is a deliberate poke in the eye to people like us’
Tesla Model S yoke
Tesla

‘Tesla's yoke is a deliberate poke in the eye to people like us’

Reinventing the (steering) wheel is a delicate business, explains Meaden
12 Apr 2022

Subscribe to evo magazine

Try 3 issues for just £5 + receive our subscriber-exclusive Great Roads poster book FREE!
‘You rarely feel the urge to go looking for their ultimate talent because it’s hidden by others’
Jethro opinion header
opinion

‘You rarely feel the urge to go looking for their ultimate talent because it’s hidden by others’

The increased abilities of today’s cars could also be their undoing, thinks Jethro
29 Mar 2022
‘General Motors is a company that made a 7.5-litre V8 front-wheel drive coupe'
Richard Porter opinion
Opinion

‘General Motors is a company that made a 7.5-litre V8 front-wheel drive coupe'

GM has built some quite brilliantly bonkers cars over the years, says Porter
15 Mar 2022
'I've discovered that a love of old tractors is a guilty pleasure concealed by lots of car people'
Dickie Meaden opinion
Opinion

'I've discovered that a love of old tractors is a guilty pleasure concealed by lots of car people'

Meaden’s looking forward to life in the slow lane with his next purchase
1 Mar 2022
‘You will never need Lane Assist more than when trying to deactivate Lane Assist in a Volkswagen ID.3’
Jethro opinion header
Volkswagen ID.3

‘You will never need Lane Assist more than when trying to deactivate Lane Assist in a Volkswagen ID.3’

The issue with VW’s ID.3 isn’t that it’s an EV, says Jethro. It’s something else
15 Feb 2022
'A two-spoke steering wheel makes sense in a sports car: it gives you more places to wrap your fingers’
Richard Porter opinion
Opinion

'A two-spoke steering wheel makes sense in a sports car: it gives you more places to wrap your fingers’

The revival of the two-spoke steering wheel is welcomed by Porter
2 Feb 2022
'Sounds have left imprints on my memory every bit as vivid as anything I've seen'
Dickie Meaden opinion
Opinion

'Sounds have left imprints on my memory every bit as vivid as anything I've seen'

The sounds of internal combustion will be greatly missed, says Meaden
18 Jan 2022
‘I’m daydreaming about a car tailor‑made for our appalling roads. Fluid, accessible and involving’
Jethro opinion header
Opinion

‘I’m daydreaming about a car tailor‑made for our appalling roads. Fluid, accessible and involving’

Is it time for a rethink about what we want from the chassis of a driver’s car?
5 Jan 2022
‘I’d be all over Russian websites trying to pin down why KGB agents had Ladas with Wankel engines’
Richard Porter opinion
Opinion

‘I’d be all over Russian websites trying to pin down why KGB agents had Ladas with Wankel engines’

Researching dull facts has led Porter to make an interesting discovery
21 Dec 2021
'I always feel a fizz excitement at putting a car key in my pocket, walking outside and driving away'
Dickie Meaden opinion
Opinion

'I always feel a fizz excitement at putting a car key in my pocket, walking outside and driving away'

Meaden might think he’d fallen out of love with cars, but for one thing…
7 Dec 2021
‘How do you qualify to own a McLaren 765LT? Just be rich. Zero talent required. Zero training’
Jethro opinion header
Opinion

‘How do you qualify to own a McLaren 765LT? Just be rich. Zero talent required. Zero training’

Jethro feels that if manufacturers aren’t careful we could see the end of the very cars we love
23 Nov 2021
'I wither inside when someone tells me their car is 'called Terry''
Richard Porter opinion
Opinion

'I wither inside when someone tells me their car is 'called Terry''

Ascribing human qualities to a car is just silly, says Richard. Unless it’s his Jaguar I-Pace
10 Nov 2021
'It's saddening to see the Countach name applied to such a cynical exercise'
Dickie Meaden opinion
Lamborghini

'It's saddening to see the Countach name applied to such a cynical exercise'

Lamborghini’s ‘homage’ to the Countach sees Meaden in reflective mood
26 Oct 2021
'Electric cars need more character, and there’s an obvious place to look for it'
Jethro opinion header
Opinion

'Electric cars need more character, and there’s an obvious place to look for it'

The electric car struggles to offer the same thrills as our favourite combustion models, but Jethro reckons he has a solution
12 Oct 2021
'Kei-cars like the super-sexy Honda Beat remain some of the most joyous road cars ever made'
Dickie Meaden opinion
Opinion

'Kei-cars like the super-sexy Honda Beat remain some of the most joyous road cars ever made'

What we need right now, says Meaden, is a kei-style framework for sports cars
28 Sep 2021
'The key to autonomous driving is obvious to anyone with half a brain'
Porter
opinion

'The key to autonomous driving is obvious to anyone with half a brain'

Porter's a fly on the wall in a critical moment within the biggest automotive R&D's quest for autonomous driving success
14 Sep 2021
‘So the Mini GP3 is a hardcore, track-spec hot hatch yet it has an automatic gearbox. Who gets fired for this decision?’
Jethro opinion header
Opinion

‘So the Mini GP3 is a hardcore, track-spec hot hatch yet it has an automatic gearbox. Who gets fired for this decision?’

The pandemic gave Angry Jethro some things he needs to get off his chest
31 Aug 2021
'Every empty-headed EV start-up feels compelled to build a 2000bhp hypercar'
Dickie Meaden opinion
Lotus

'Every empty-headed EV start-up feels compelled to build a 2000bhp hypercar'

In a world gone power-mad, we need the next Elise more than ever, says Meaden
17 Aug 2021
‘I was given Murray Walker’s number and invited to ring him at home. A voice answered. That voice’
Richard Porter opinion
Opinion

‘I was given Murray Walker’s number and invited to ring him at home. A voice answered. That voice’

Murray Walker disproved the adage about never meeting your heroes, says Porter
3 Aug 2021
‘Greater ability means you can tackle even more extreme terrain, climb madder climbs’
Jethro opinion header
Opinion

‘Greater ability means you can tackle even more extreme terrain, climb madder climbs’

Turns out the Thrill of Driving doesn’t have to be limited to on-road pursuits
20 Jul 2021
'Do brands who have gone all-in on EV risk waking up and wondering what the hell they've done?'
Dickie Meaden opinion
Opinion

'Do brands who have gone all-in on EV risk waking up and wondering what the hell they've done?'

Meaden’s warming to EVs, but he isn’t convinced they’re the only way forward
6 Jul 2021
It’s time for some home truths about the Toyota GR Yaris, reckons Porter
Richard Porter opinion
Toyota GR Yaris

It’s time for some home truths about the Toyota GR Yaris, reckons Porter

‘It looks stretched and contorted, like someone who’s had too much cheap plastic surgery’
22 Jun 2021
Can the Renault Clio Trophy beat a modern supersaloon for daily transport?
Jethro opinion header
Opinion

Can the Renault Clio Trophy beat a modern supersaloon for daily transport?

The boot struts have gone saggy and the hatch slams onto my head three times a week, but the Clio Trophy is hard to resist
8 Jun 2021
Treating cars as investments comes with a price of its own, reckons Meaden
Dickie Meaden opinion
Opinion

Treating cars as investments comes with a price of its own, reckons Meaden

'We're blinding ourselves to quirky or characterful cars that are genuinely affordable'
25 May 2021
The twists and turns of a new Netflix drama have got Porter gripped
Richard Porter opinion
Opinion

The twists and turns of a new Netflix drama have got Porter gripped

‘The series is based around a rag-tag cast of characters forced into a crazy struggle for survival’
12 May 2021
'LA’s finest is awesome, but you can’t beat a British B-road for a proper workout'
Jethro opinion header
Opinion

'LA’s finest is awesome, but you can’t beat a British B-road for a proper workout'

I’d take ten minutes on a good British B-road over three hours at Mach 3 along the Angeles Crest Highway
27 Apr 2021
'In a moment of white-hot clarity my brain calculated McRae would be apexing precisely where we were standing'
Dickie Meaden opinion
Subaru

'In a moment of white-hot clarity my brain calculated McRae would be apexing precisely where we were standing'

How a close encounter with Colin McRae left a lasting Impreza impression
14 Apr 2021
'Electric cars may herald the sound of silence, but that brings with it a unique advantage'
Dickie Meaden opinion
Opinion

'Electric cars may herald the sound of silence, but that brings with it a unique advantage'

Increased listening pleasure is one of the few upsides Dickie can see to the proposed shift to all-electric power
30 Mar 2021
'Look beyond the obvious and the Land Rover Discovery has an appealing skill set'
Richard Porter opinion
Land Rover Discovery

'Look beyond the obvious and the Land Rover Discovery has an appealing skill set'

Driven with a gentle touch this chunky bus will swoop across the countryside feeling imperious
17 Mar 2021
'Ordinarily I would have looked for an opportunity to pass and continued on my way, but this was different'
Dickie Meaden opinion
Opinion

'Ordinarily I would have looked for an opportunity to pass and continued on my way, but this was different'

The unexpected restorative powers of a chance encounter with a skilled driver
2 Mar 2021