Opinion

‘How do you qualify to own a McLaren 765LT? Just be rich. Zero talent required. Zero training’
Jethro opinion header
Opinion

‘How do you qualify to own a McLaren 765LT? Just be rich. Zero talent required. Zero training’

Jethro feels that if manufacturers aren’t careful we could see the end of the very cars we love
23 Nov 2021
'I wither inside when someone tells me their car is 'called Terry''
Richard Porter opinion
Opinion

'I wither inside when someone tells me their car is 'called Terry''

Ascribing human qualities to a car is just silly, says Richard. Unless it’s his Jaguar I-Pace
10 Nov 2021
'It's saddening to see the Countach name applied to such a cynical exercise'
Dickie Meaden opinion
Lamborghini

'It's saddening to see the Countach name applied to such a cynical exercise'

Lamborghini’s ‘homage’ to the Countach sees Meaden in reflective mood
26 Oct 2021
'Electric cars need more character, and there’s an obvious place to look for it'
Jethro opinion header
Opinion

'Electric cars need more character, and there’s an obvious place to look for it'

The electric car struggles to offer the same thrills as our favourite combustion models, but Jethro reckons he has a solution
12 Oct 2021
'Kei-cars like the super-sexy Honda Beat remain some of the most joyous road cars ever made'
Dickie Meaden opinion
Opinion

'Kei-cars like the super-sexy Honda Beat remain some of the most joyous road cars ever made'

What we need right now, says Meaden, is a kei-style framework for sports cars
28 Sep 2021

Subscribe to evo magazine

Try 3 issues for just £5 + receive our subscriber-exclusive Great Roads poster book FREE!
'The key to autonomous driving is obvious to anyone with half a brain'
Porter
opinion

'The key to autonomous driving is obvious to anyone with half a brain'

Porter's a fly on the wall in a critical moment within the biggest automotive R&D's quest for autonomous driving success
14 Sep 2021
‘So the Mini GP3 is a hardcore, track-spec hot hatch yet it has an automatic gearbox. Who gets fired for this decision?’
Jethro opinion header
Opinion

‘So the Mini GP3 is a hardcore, track-spec hot hatch yet it has an automatic gearbox. Who gets fired for this decision?’

The pandemic gave Angry Jethro some things he needs to get off his chest
31 Aug 2021
'Every empty-headed EV start-up feels compelled to build a 2000bhp hypercar'
Dickie Meaden opinion
Lotus

'Every empty-headed EV start-up feels compelled to build a 2000bhp hypercar'

In a world gone power-mad, we need the next Elise more than ever, says Meaden
17 Aug 2021
‘I was given Murray Walker’s number and invited to ring him at home. A voice answered. That voice’
Richard Porter opinion
Opinion

‘I was given Murray Walker’s number and invited to ring him at home. A voice answered. That voice’

Murray Walker disproved the adage about never meeting your heroes, says Porter
3 Aug 2021
‘Greater ability means you can tackle even more extreme terrain, climb madder climbs’
Jethro opinion header
Opinion

‘Greater ability means you can tackle even more extreme terrain, climb madder climbs’

Turns out the Thrill of Driving doesn’t have to be limited to on-road pursuits
20 Jul 2021
'Do brands who have gone all-in on EV risk waking up and wondering what the hell they've done?'
Dickie Meaden opinion
Opinion

'Do brands who have gone all-in on EV risk waking up and wondering what the hell they've done?'

Meaden’s warming to EVs, but he isn’t convinced they’re the only way forward
6 Jul 2021
It’s time for some home truths about the Toyota GR Yaris, reckons Porter
Richard Porter opinion
Toyota GR Yaris

It’s time for some home truths about the Toyota GR Yaris, reckons Porter

‘It looks stretched and contorted, like someone who’s had too much cheap plastic surgery’
22 Jun 2021
Can the Renault Clio Trophy beat a modern supersaloon for daily transport?
Jethro opinion header
Opinion

Can the Renault Clio Trophy beat a modern supersaloon for daily transport?

The boot struts have gone saggy and the hatch slams onto my head three times a week, but the Clio Trophy is hard to resist
8 Jun 2021
Treating cars as investments comes with a price of its own, reckons Meaden
Dickie Meaden opinion
Opinion

Treating cars as investments comes with a price of its own, reckons Meaden

'We're blinding ourselves to quirky or characterful cars that are genuinely affordable'
25 May 2021
The twists and turns of a new Netflix drama have got Porter gripped
Richard Porter opinion
Opinion

The twists and turns of a new Netflix drama have got Porter gripped

‘The series is based around a rag-tag cast of characters forced into a crazy struggle for survival’
12 May 2021
'LA’s finest is awesome, but you can’t beat a British B-road for a proper workout'
Jethro opinion header
Opinion

'LA’s finest is awesome, but you can’t beat a British B-road for a proper workout'

I’d take ten minutes on a good British B-road over three hours at Mach 3 along the Angeles Crest Highway
27 Apr 2021
'In a moment of white-hot clarity my brain calculated McRae would be apexing precisely where we were standing'
Dickie Meaden opinion
Subaru

'In a moment of white-hot clarity my brain calculated McRae would be apexing precisely where we were standing'

How a close encounter with Colin McRae left a lasting Impreza impression
14 Apr 2021
'Electric cars may herald the sound of silence, but that brings with it a unique advantage'
Dickie Meaden opinion
Opinion

'Electric cars may herald the sound of silence, but that brings with it a unique advantage'

Increased listening pleasure is one of the few upsides Dickie can see to the proposed shift to all-electric power
30 Mar 2021
'Look beyond the obvious and the Land Rover Discovery has an appealing skill set'
Richard Porter opinion
Land Rover Discovery

'Look beyond the obvious and the Land Rover Discovery has an appealing skill set'

Driven with a gentle touch this chunky bus will swoop across the countryside feeling imperious
17 Mar 2021
'Ordinarily I would have looked for an opportunity to pass and continued on my way, but this was different'
Dickie Meaden opinion
Opinion

'Ordinarily I would have looked for an opportunity to pass and continued on my way, but this was different'

The unexpected restorative powers of a chance encounter with a skilled driver
2 Mar 2021
'It’s time for some hard truths about motor racing’s influence on road cars'
Richard Porter opinion
Opinion

'It’s time for some hard truths about motor racing’s influence on road cars'

Even long-standing teams with road car divisions might struggle to point out where the tech transfer lies
16 Feb 2021
'I'll reserve the right to have one of Miki Biasion's Martini-liveried Delta HF Integrales'
Dickie Meaden opinion
Opinion

'I'll reserve the right to have one of Miki Biasion's Martini-liveried Delta HF Integrales'

Meaden’s thought up a new twist for the classic three car garage game
2 Feb 2021
'Traction control, ABS, airbags, lights, – one press of a button and they're all off. We're better off without them'
Richard Porter opinion
Opinion

'Traction control, ABS, airbags, lights, – one press of a button and they're all off. We're better off without them'

The Common Sense Car offers a glimmer of hope for British sports car lovers
19 Jan 2021
'How do most people choose their next car? The answer is depressingly simple'
Richard Porter opinion
Opinion

'How do most people choose their next car? The answer is depressingly simple'

The entire basis of modern consumerism might be underpinned by the sheer mass of folk who can’t be arsed
5 Jan 2021
'The GMA T.50 will be brilliant, but could the Aston Martin Valkyrie be a more exciting car?'
GMA T.50 front
GMA T.50 coupe

'The GMA T.50 will be brilliant, but could the Aston Martin Valkyrie be a more exciting car?'

I can almost imagine what the T.50 might feel like. But the Valkyrie? It’s a whole new world
15 Dec 2020
Lewis Hamilton is in the best Formula 1 car, but he has also been instrumental in making Mercedes unbeatable
Opinion

Lewis Hamilton is in the best Formula 1 car, but he has also been instrumental in making Mercedes unbeatable

If winning in a Mercedes is so easy, why does Toto Wolff ask Daimler to send a cheque for $54million to Hamilton each year?
17 Nov 2020
'Now, more than ever, we should draw on our collective love of cars and driving'
Dickie Meaden opinion
Opinion

'Now, more than ever, we should draw on our collective love of cars and driving'

I can't wait to be sitting in a bloody great traffic jam, surrounded by humanity
17 Nov 2020
'A Lamborghini Aventador is pure showtime, and the way it speaks to my young son demonstrates that to a T'
Richard Porter opinion
Lamborghini Aventador

'A Lamborghini Aventador is pure showtime, and the way it speaks to my young son demonstrates that to a T'

Does Porter like the Aventador? No, but his boy doesn’t need to know that
22 Sep 2020
'The thought that I could well have been to my last Geneva motor show is decidedly sad'
Opinion

'The thought that I could well have been to my last Geneva motor show is decidedly sad'

The car world will be a less colourful place if motor shows are driven to extinction
9 Sep 2020
Porter seeks enlightenment on one of the most mystifying issues in motoring
Richard Porter opinion
Cupra

Porter seeks enlightenment on one of the most mystifying issues in motoring

"You cannot stop now!" Jesus shouted. "Your soul will not rest if you do not find the answer you need!" 
18 Aug 2020
'The world doesn't need this many supercars'
Opinion

'The world doesn't need this many supercars'

Covid-19 is a wake-up call for certain car makers and their business models
4 Aug 2020
'It's conceivable that the spiritual home of the supercar could have become not Modena, but Macclesfield'
Richard Porter opinion
Opinion

'It's conceivable that the spiritual home of the supercar could have become not Modena, but Macclesfield'

The early days of the supercar in an alternate reality that's also strangely familiar...
21 Jul 2020
'Driving a new Ferrari on those glorious roads was to feel like we had been given the keys to a kingdom'
Opinion

'Driving a new Ferrari on those glorious roads was to feel like we had been given the keys to a kingdom'

Our passion for the thrill of driving owes so much to the thrill of Italy
7 Jul 2020
'I'd forgotten how much you discover about a car when you have to rub your hand over every panel' 
Richard Porter opinion
Opinion

'I'd forgotten how much you discover about a car when you have to rub your hand over every panel' 

Wash and learn - there's still life in the old car-design ways 
23 Jun 2020